Different Types of NBFCs Registered With RBI

Different Types of NBFCs Registered With RBI



The NBFCs that are registered with RBI are:

  • (i) equipment leasing company;
  • (ii) hire-purchase company;
  • (iii) loan company;
  • (iv) investment company.

With effect from December 6, 2006 the above NBFCs registered with RBI have been reclassified as

  • (i) Asset Finance Company (AFC)
  • (ii) Investment Company (IC)
  • (iii) Loan Company (LC)

AFC would be defined as any company which is a financial institution carrying on as its principal business the financing of physical assets supporting productive / economic activity, such as automobiles, tractors, lathe machines, generator sets, earth moving and material handling equipments, moving on own power and general purpose industrial machines.

Principal business for this purpose is defined as aggregate of financing real/physical assets supporting economic activity and income arising therefrom is not less than 60% of its total assets and total income respectively.

The above type of companies may be further classified into those accepting deposits or those not accepting deposits.

Besides the above class of NBFCs the Residuary Non-Banking Financial Companies are also registered as NBFC Guidelines with the Bank.